Philip McCord Morse Lectureship Award

2023 - Winner(s)

2023 Winner(s)

Purpose of the Award

2023 Committee Chair

Paul Glasserman
Columbia University

Email [email protected] with questions

Click here for committee information.

The Lectureship is awarded in honor of Philip McCord Morse in recognition of his pioneer contribution to the field of operations research and the management sciences. The award is given in odd-numbered years at the Annual Meeting if there is a suitable recipient. The term of the lectureship is two years. The award is $2,000, a certificate, a travel fund of $5,000, a copy of Morse's autobiography, In at the Beginnings: A Physicist's Life, and a copy of Morse and Kimball's Methods of Operations Research.

Application Process

The award is given in odd-numbered years at the Annual Meeting if there is a suitable recipient. The term of the lectureship is two years.  A keynote presentation will be given the year after receiving the award.

Click here to learn more about the application process.

About the Award/Namesake

Philip M. Morse

Widely considered to be the father of operations research in the U.S., Dr. Morse organized the Anti-Submarine Warfare Operations Research Group (ASWORG), later ORG, for the U.S. Navy early in 1942. "That Morse’s group was an important factor in winning the war is fairly obvious to everyone who knows anything about the inside of the war," wrote historian John Burchard.He was a prime mover behind the creation of ORSA in 1952. He launched MIT’s Operations Research Center in 1956, directing it until 1968, and awarding the first Ph.D. in OR in the U.S. (to John Little)...

Learn more about Philip McCord Morse

Past Awardees

2023 Winner(s)
David B Shmoys, Cornell University
2021 Winner(s)
Alvin E. Roth, Stanford University
2019 Winner(s)
Peter Glynn, Stanford University
2017 Winner(s)
Éva Tardos, Cornell University
2015 Winner(s)
Margaret L. Brandeau, Stanford University, Management Science and Engineering
2013 Winner(s)
Dimitris J. Bertsimas , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management and Operations Research Center
2011 Winner(s)
William R. Pulleyblank, United States Military Academy
2009 Winner(s)
Edward H. Kaplan, Yale University
2007 Winner(s)
Lawrence M. Wein, Stanford University, Graduate School of Business
2005 Winner(s)
Marshall L. Fisher, University of Pennsylvania, Wharton School Operations & Information Management Dept.
2003 Winner(s)
Alfred Blumstein, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz College
2001 Winner(s)
Gary L. Lilien, Distinguished Research Professor of Management Science, Penn State
Distinguished Professor of Marketing, University of Technology, Sydney
1999 Winner(s)
Hugh J. Miser
1997 Winner(s)
Richard C. Larson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1995 Winner(s)
Alan J. Goldman, Johns Hopkins University, Dept. of Applied Mathematics
1993 Winner(s)
Ralph L. Keeney, USC
1991 Winner(s)
George L. Nemhauser, Georgia Institute of Technology, Dept. of Industrial & Systems Engineering
1989 Winner(s)
Robert Herman, University of Texas-Austin
1987 Winner(s)
John D.C. Little, Massachusetts Institute of Technology